Alone in the dark.

Sometimes we take time for granted. We say things like:

 

“I will get to it…when I have time.”

“I will call ____ when I have time.”

“I have all the time in the world…I will get to it when I am ready.”

But, time is something that we don’t have. We are busy individuals and something always seems to take up our time without even knowing it.

I woke up this morning and set goals for myself.

“I will wake up at 8 and give my daughter breakfast…I will watch her favorite show with her. I will get ready for work…”

But, that didn’t happen…not all of it. I woke up at 8 and gave my daughter breakfast. But, I sat there and did nothing. I didn’t watch her favorite show with her. I was sitting there dreading the day I had ahead of me. I look up at the clock and see that I had to get ready for work. While I’m getting ready for work, my little one is bouncing around the house asking me questions about my job…and if I will have time to buy her a toy that I promised her. I was in a rush to head out of the door. I worked with a client for a couple of hours and headed to another job. And 10 hours later, I walked in my door at 10 PM. My wife was awake and we talked for 15 minutes. My little one happened to be awake and I spent 5 minutes with her before she fell asleep. I took a shower and when I came out my wife was asleep. So, if i calculate it…i spent 10 hours at work…an hour driving from one job to another…and a combined 20 minutes with my wife and daughter. It made me sad. I sat there and watched them as they fell asleep….and it made me think about how short our days are. We think we have all the time in the world to spend with our loved ones…but in reality, where are we really focusing our time? And if we are spending time with our loved ones…are we focused on them? Or are we staring at our phones….I had only 20 minutes to talk with my wife…I didn’t get to hear about her day. I didn’t have enough time to ask my daughter how her day was….it was just me, alone in the dark.

Leave a Reply

