A girl….and her scooter.

Sometimes we rely too much on money to bring fun into our lives. We associate entertainment with a monetary value. 

 

I scoured the net looking for something to do with my daughter. And they fell into two categories:

 

Too expensive or too far away.

I asked my little one what she wanted to do…and all she said was, “be outside.” So we grabbed scooter and headed to the park. We have been to this particular park many times, but my little one has never tried the skate park.

 

First…the protective gear.      

   20140716_102543       20140716_102937

All this after a spirited debate on which pads go where…and finding out that I was wrong, and my bug was right.

She was intimidated at first. The many dips and dives of the skate park startled her. But of course, there were boys that caught her attention and gave her the courage she needed.

 

Getting ready for the drop. And why is that boy watching her?

Getting ready for the drop. And why is that boy watching her?

20140716_103625

 

And she was hooked. She turned to me and said, “Dad…I’m not scared anymore. The cute boy can do it…so I can do it too.”

“Cute?”

“Yes, he’s cute. His face is cute.”

Maybe this park was a bad idea. She rode her scooter to her heart’s content. But, once the boys left she sat down with me to talk about the day. We had lunch while sitting on a hill of cement.

"The essentials...Goldfish. Cookies. Kool-Aid. A fruit roll up. And a hot dog."

“The essentials…Goldfish. Cookies. Kool-Aid. A fruit roll up. And a hot dog.”

“Are you having fun Bug? Do you like this park?”

“Yes, but why don’t you ride something here too?

“Cause I will hurt myself…you and your mom are the daredevils in this family…I will leave the exciting stuff to you two.”

“Maybe Mom will like to come here.”

“She would…but she needs more exciting things. If this skate park had a bungee jumping thing or some planes to jump out of…then maybe she would do it.”

“Bungee jumping? What is that?”

“It’s nothing…I don’t want you doing it anyway.”

 

All this cost nothing….but what I gained was priceless. I watched my daughter get over her fears and try something she had never tried before. And when she discovered it was fun, she realized the bravery that she had inside of her. There isn’t an amount of money you can pay to see that.

 

Now if I can just scare all the boys away...

Now if I can just scare all the boys away…

 

     

Leave a Reply

