Flashing pictures and lights

Television has always played a role in my life. I remember waking up at 6 in the morning as a kid to watch the saturday morning cartoon lineup. I would sneak down the hallway our hallway floor that was covered in plastic(don’t ask me why), and make my way to our living room. Our TV was quirky. You had to turn it on a certain way because the volume knob was short circuiting. So, if you turned it on wrong, the TV would turn on with the volume on full blast. And boy did my parents love when that happened at 6 on the morning during the weekend. I would grab a bowl of cereal and sit in front of the TV. It was comfort for me. I still have that same love of TV and cereal. I do still watch my share of cartoons but this time it’s with my daughter. And it makes me smile when she pulls up to the television with a bowl of cereal in front of her like I did when I was her age. But, eventually I get my TV back and my mind teleports away. Yes I know, too much television is bad but sometimes we don’t realize the beauty of the stories that are put in front of us. And as a writer, I can appreciate the work that goes on to making, writing, and producing a show. Some shows are for pure entertainment, but some shows have such complex and enthralling storylines that compel you to stay glued to them for hours at a time. I looked at my DVR and saw a common theme of shows that I constantly watch…family. These are the four shows that I love and are perfect for a bowl of cereal.

1. Here Comes Honey Boo Boo

Hey…Hey…give me a chance to explain. Yes, it’s filled with immature poop jokes. But, it is also endearing. There are moments filled with the importance of family and love. A recent episode included a discussion between a mother and daughter and how she did not want her oldest daughter to move to a different state. She was scared and wanted her daughter to stay closer to home so she can still make sure she is ok. As a parent I can understand that. Fully letting go of your child to find a life of their own is tough and heartbreaking at the same time. You understand the need to find a life of their own and see what the world has to offer but your love for your child prevents you from wanting it to happen. Yes, these moments are few and far between in this show, but it’s worth it.

2. Game of Thrones

Knights….Kings….dragons..all mixed in with deceit, murder, and a struggle for power. What’s not to like? This show is also about family but its not a fluffy and sugar covered story. There is lots of violence and other bad stuff, but the story is captivating. I can talk about this show for hours but as soon as i say the words “Oh my gosh…last night on Game of Thrones…”, I can actually physically see my wife’s mind shut down and start the falling asleep process. The show contains a lot of dialogue and sometimes it’s hard to understand but if you stick with it, you will be hooked. There are so many jaw-dropping moments in this show and the author will make you hate him. But, you can’t turn your eyes from this show….it’s too good. This clip is a blooper reel cause I can’t really show you what really happens on the show.

3. True Detective

I just started watching this show and I can’t stop. The story is crazy…the acting is sooo good. I talk to myself a lot while I watch this show.

“What?!?”

“Are you serious?!”

“Dude….no way.”

If a show makes you talk to yourself like a crazy person, then you know its good. It only has one season so far and it ended a earlier this year so it’s tough finding other people to talk to about this show. But, they are filming the second season with a whole new cast. It’s not on Netflix but it is “On Demand” on your cable provider. But, the family theme is present here. The internal struggle of a man trying to keep his job’s reality from affecting his family life is captivating. The clip has harsh language so beware but the discussion the two characters have sums up what makes it so interesting. Two detectives on a case who have opposite views on everything and clash every bit of the way during their chase after a criminal.

4. Parenthood

My favorite show right now. It’s filled with humor, love, struggle, family, and everything in between. I can relate to this show because I have a huge family and see some of the same struggles we have had in this show. The cast is great. The critics love it and it’s final season will start this fall. Very rarely do I watch an episode and NOT cry. As parents, we experience some of the same problems  and this show sheds a light on those issues. What do we do if our child is bullied? Or how do we deal with parents who were “never there?” I am so glad it will get a proper ending and I will probably be crying the whole way through. I’m tearing up just writing this paragraph. It’s on Netflix if you are interested. I often watch the show and question myself, “As a father, what would I do in that situation? How would I handle it?”

 

One thought on “Flashing pictures and lights

Leave a Reply

