The Daydreamer Challenge Day 3 – One of my “Must Reads”

fatherhood

When I found out I was going to become a father I was ecstatic. Getting to see my future baby for the first time brought all these emotions of happiness and joy. I stared into the sonogram and watched the doctor point at this gray blurry picture.

“Toes…those are the toes. A hand…there is a hand. Now, do you want to know the sex of the baby?”

My wife turned to me. I nodded.

“Yes please.”

“A girl….a baby girl.”

My wife started to cry tears of happiness. I teared up too. But, then my mind started to race…a girl. My life of worry began. My baby girl would grow up….and have boyfriends. That stuck with me for a long time. I remember how I was when I was younger, and the way I was a jerk to females. I was clueless as a teen, I was self-absorbed….I was selfish…I broke hearts. Oh boy, paranoia here we come. I imagined inventing a big bubble to protect my baby girl from all men, it was the obvious thing to do. And now my little baby girl is 6, and questions have started to surface.

“Daddy, when do I get a boyfriend?”

“…never baby. You don’t need one.”

“Daddy….really?”

“Ok…when you are 67. That sounds about right.”

So, for this challenge it asks us to talk about one of our favorite blogs. I enjoy reading blogs from fathers and what they experience. I still consider myself pretty clueless when it comes to parenting. There are no instruction manuals attached to the baby when they baby comes out just to let you know. So, I find stories about parenting hilarious.

ivebecomemyparents.com

This is one of my favorite blogs. Parenting is rewarding, fun, challenging, and funny at the same time. And this father talks about it all.

(Sorry for the crazy late response to this challenge, I have been sick for the past day or two.)

6 thoughts on “The Daydreamer Challenge Day 3 – One of my “Must Reads”

Leave a Reply

