“I’m sorry I can’t hear you…you sound like a muppet.” and the Versatile Blogger Award!

“Here you go….did you find everything you were looking for?”

“I’m sorry I can’t hear you…you sound like a muppet.”

I repeated myself…my voice was struggling.

“Yes, thank you….” The lady started to giggle.

“I am losing my voice. My voice is Kermit the Frog-like, and now its worse. It’s basically Kermit the Frog going through puberty…it’s fantastic.”

The lady laughed more loudly.

I hate losing my voice. It stops me from one of my favorite things to do…talking. It’s right under my first favorite thing…eating. Well, not right under….eating is winning by a landslide. And not just any landslide, a landslide covered in caramel…and when you ride that landSLIDE you land in a big swimming pool filled with spaghetti and lasagna.

My main job requires me to talk all the time….but what am I supposed to do if every person I talk to needs subtitles to understand me? So I took advice:

“Drink tea. Lots of warm drinks….honey….lemon.” So I did. But drinking hot drinks on a hot day is not that fun. First of all, all the constant hot drink drinking made me sweat. And of course all the drinking made me pee….a lot. Drink. Sweat. Pee. Drink. Sweat. Pee.

“Excuse me, the sweaty asian guy who talks like a muppet is available to help you. Wait, he just left to go use the bathroom.”

I woke up and my voice was completely gone. I felt like I was a mime. I had to use a combination of sign language and hand movements just to communicate with my daughter. It’s like I’ve been playing charades with my daughter all day. I was living in a silent movie.

So, I stayed home today to rest my weary and beaten voice. It gave me a chance to work on my novel more…which brings me to this:

Thanks Mindy!

Thanks Mindy!

These awards are a great way to connect with bloggers and learn more about the person behind the words that you read. Mindy’s blog is awesome, so please…for the love of spaghetti, lasagna, and caramel, check her blog out at:

https://mindykdickerson.wordpress.com/

It’s funny…honest…with stories of guys who stare too much and the adult struggles of dinner parties. Go…follow…go!

So, here are the rules:

1.Show the award on your Blog

2.Tell something about yourself stating a) your country of origin b) Likes & Dislikes   c)School where you studied

3. Thank and acknowledge the person who nominated you.

4. Share some facts of life leading to your blogging or what made you blog?

5. In your opinion, is blogging worth your time spent? Explain or expand your answer.

6. Nominate fellow deserving bloggers

7. Link your nominees and let them know.

I am from the United States….born in San Diego…but now live in the Bay Area. I love living here…it is diverse and so many different cultures live here. If I want cold weather, I can go to San Francisco. If I want hot weather, Sacramento is not too far away. If we want snow, we can find that somewhere too.

I love reality tv. I love gift cards. I love waking up in the middle of the night and realizing I still have more time to sleep. I love baseball. I have a big sweet tooth. So, I am constantly eating candy….especially sour stuff and things that are gummy(gummy worms, gummy bears.) I love writing. I am one of those weird people who loves writing essays. I love getting in my car and realizing that I don’t have to get gas before I go. I love cinnamon rolls and cheesecake. But, most of all, I love my family.

Wifey and some weird guy.

Wifey and some weird guy.

I’ve known her forever. And when I first met her, my jaw dropped. You ever see someone so attractive that it made you feel ugly? Yeah, that’s how I felt. I was a very confident guy the day I met her, but seeing her made me question myself.

“Man, look at her. She would never talk to me. I should probably lose weight or something. Maybe exercise….do yoga…eat yogurt…stuff that starts with ‘y’ are usually good for you. Maybe even yodeling will help me. Yeah, especially that yoga stuff. It will help me with my inner chi or something like that. And she looks like you need to have a good inner chi. Yeah, thats the ticket.”

You know someone is a hottie when they make you want to change your whole lifestyle.

And this little one:

..Bug.

..Bug.

She is the source of my inspiration. She is so full of life and laughter…and is amazed by everything. She keeps us young.

Here is what I don’t like:

Traffic. I hate when you are running out of soap…and all you have is that little soap bar sliver. But, you still use it in the shower…and you keep losing it and dropping it. Yeah, I hate that. I hate when coffee shop workers mess up your order and give you anything besides soy milk. Hello, I am lactose intolerant, and now you have just ruined my day. I hate drivers who go out of turn at a 4-way stop sign. You need to stop, figure out who stopped before you…and go after them. Don’t roll stop and then just go and drive away laughing an evil laugh because you successfully messed up the rotation for all the other cars left behind. I don’t think I am being specific enough. I hate Mcdonald’s french fries…because I can’t stop eating them.

I started blogging because I love writing. I remember writing ridiculous stories in elementary school during recess. Yes, I wasn’t playing kickball or four square during recess. I was writing stories on a bench, I was sooo cool. I had a really rough childhood. I have posted in the past about it. Becoming a parent brought me to WordPress. I wanted to read what other parents were going through…it was a source of strength and community. So, most of what I write are my experiences of being a parent and past experiences that have made me who I am today.

Is blogging worth it? Yes…see? another ‘y’ word that is good for you. It helps you express what you cannot say in words. You can spill your thoughts onto your computer screen…it’s therapeutic like a massage. Well, maybe not, because I have had bad experiences with massages. Quick tip, if you are a massage therapist, don’t massage a foot(especially if the person is ticklish) and right after start massaging their head and face. Hello, you were just massaging my feet…and now you are massaging my face. That’s kinda gross.

That is all. Carry on with your fridays.

6 thoughts on ““I’m sorry I can’t hear you…you sound like a muppet.” and the Versatile Blogger Award!

  1. GREAT POST! We’re located in the Bay Area as well & wouldn’t have it any other way! I’m ADDICTED to MD’s fries & can never say NO! LOL! Hope you feel better!

  2. This was wonderful!! I definitely cringed while reading about the massage because that’s just gross. Even if you have clean feet, I’d really rather not have someone rub my feet and then my face/head. Haha this was too funny. I’m glad you participated, yet another reason to love your blog!

Leave a Reply

