I made this for you…or me.(Daily Prompt)

When someone says, “I made this for you..,” you probably get excited.

“What is it?”

Your mind races…is it a card? Or maybe a cake?

And if you were a girl classmate of mine in my teenage years, you probably got a mixtape. And when I handed it to you, I probably gave you a lame compliment like:

“I really like when you smile and the sun reflects off the braces in your mouth.”

“I really like how you always color coordinate your hair scrunchies with your socks.”

“You are so pretty…and that’s probably because your mom is pretty…really pretty…is she going to pick you up later? I hope I see her…she’s really pretty.”

“You were great in PE. That really hurt when you threw that ball at me in Dodgeball. It was like you wanted to hurt me. But, I know you are just competitive. I have to go see the school nurse now, I’m dizzy from that ball you threw off my head. Gosh, you throw hard. Another reason why I like you…because you throw hard.”

And then the girl classmates would take those mixtapes I made…and listen to them. And then, this would happen.

“That was a really sweet mixtape…I was going to ask so-and-so to the dance. I didn’t know how to do it. So now I will give this mixtape to them and see if they say yes! Thank you so much!”

Yay…that’s me. The unintentional matchmaker.

But what if we became friends now…and you wanted a quick recap of who I am? And didn’t want to go through hours and hours of boring conversation with me to find out what I am about. Today’s prompt asks us to make a mixtape or playlist that would describe us. So here is my lame compliment to you.

“Wow, you are really good at typing and looking for stuff on Google. What? Why are you hiding your browser history? Is there something you are hiding from me?”

So, I made this for you…or me.

1. Stay Together for the Kids by Blink-182

I grew up in a broken family with an abusive father.

2. Super Mario Theme song

I have been a gamer since I was a kid. I still play…and this game started my life long love of video games.

3. Ice Ice Baby by Vanilla Ice

When I was a kid, I wanted to be this guy. I bought this song with hard earned money (a dollar a week allowance) and used to practice the dance routine in my room all the time. I even bought his autobiography…and tried to talk like him and used the lyrics in every day conversation. Yes, it was embarrassing.

“Hey Dan…wanna play basketball later?”

“YEAHHHHHHHHHH…..word to your mutha.”

“What? What do you want to do then?”

“Hmm…well first…let’s….STOP…COLLABORATE AND LISTEN…uhh…DAN IS BACK WITH HIS BRAND NEW INVENTION..”

Safe to say, I lost a few friends that way.

4. One Last Cry by Brian McKnight

I was very emotional has a teen. Sad movie…I cried. Teen drama…I cried. Ran out of hair spray…I cried. Actually, I still kinda act like that.

5. It’s a Beautiful Day for a Ball Game by Unknown

I love baseball. It’s an addiction…it’s probably a problem…and I should probably get checked for it.

6. Everytime I close My Eye by Babyface

This is my wedding song. It fits my marriage perfectly. The lyrics match how we met…and how we got reunited.

7. Never Grow Up by Taylor Swift

I have a daughter named Alaina Marie. But we call her Bug. She is our world…and she is growing way too fast. She bring us joy every day. And is the reason why we live. The lyrics to this song always make me cry.

I hope you like the mixtape I made for you. Please don’t give it to someone else. Well, unless you want to ask someone to a dance or something. See you in PE.

Honorable mentions that did not make the playlist:

1. Thong Song by Sisqo

It’s funny…it’s catchy. And has mind-blowing lyrics:

“…i like it when the booty goes ta-dun ta-dun.”

Honestly, if your booty goes ta-dun ta-dun, that’s probably a medical condition. I think I saw a late night commercial for medication for that…and no I won’t post the video, silly goose.

2. I Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen

One of my little one’s favorite songs. Tom Hanks lip syncs this song…and does the dance routine with Carly Rae Jepsen. Who am I kidding…I really really really really really really like this song too.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mix-tape-masterpiece/

4 thoughts on “I made this for you…or me.(Daily Prompt)

Leave a Reply

