Taller…and a lot less teeth.

My little one walked down the halls of her school for the first time this school year.

“Daddy…everyone is taller!”

I watched her greet her old friends and smiled. She looked back at me.

“Daddy! We are all back! Everyone is back!

She was so excited. One of her friends ran up to me…

“Umm…Lainy’s dad?”

“Yes, Lainy’s friend?”

“Umm..everyone is here. Except _____, she was on a plane..and it crashed.”

“WHAT! Are you serious? What!! What happened?”

“Lainy’s dad? I’m just kidding…I like to joke a lot.”

“Well, not the best joke in the world to be honest. But, we have all year to work on it.”

“Haha…I like when you try to be funny Lainy’s dad.”

She ran back to her group of friends and the giggle-fest continued. I recognized a few of the parents in her new class and waved hello. And I caught eyes with a few of the new parents I have never met. And as a parent, you can’t help but “size up” the parents you have never met before. I loved the group of parents from Bug’s first grade class. They were nice….helpful…and treated the other kids like they were their own. I looked at a set of parents I did not know and walked up to them.

“Hey, how’s it goin? First day of school…this is exciting right?”

The two parents just stared at me blankly. And silence entered the space in between us.

“Well, have a great day!” I walked away awkwardly wondering why I was ignored. Flashbacks of my dating life when I was single flooded my head.

I retreated to another corner of the room and watched Bug figure out what seat to sit in.

“Dad…I think I will sit here.” She opened her desk and began to ooh and ahh and all the space. She inspected each nook and cranny like a potential buyer at a car dealership.

“Second grader’s desks are bigger, Dad. Because we are bigger….so we need bigger desks.”

“Makes sense, wait til you see where you have to store your stuff when you are in high school. You get your own locker….and it will have a lock on it.”

“Really? I can’t wait to have one..”

She couldn’t wait to get this school year started…but I was not ready. I am not ready for her to grow up. I will NEVER be ready for this.

15 thoughts on “Taller…and a lot less teeth.

  1. My daughter just started Kindergarten today. I worried for nothing. I was worried about her going by herself. If she would be brave enough to talk to others… and so many things. All of it disappeared when we registered her.

    I just… Will be so excited when she gets home today so she can tell me about her first day of school.
    And psh, I would have said hi back! Usually I have a hard time talking to other parents, but if they start the conversation first, I am good to go.

    • Yeah, I totally know how you feel! It’s always a scary thing to think about…you worry about friendly kids…and kids who are not so friendly. I worry about bullies…and stuff like that. She just lost her two front teeth so she is a little self-conscious right now, and that made my heart break. Kids should not feel self-conscious…they should feel proud and confident. You gonna blog about your little one’s first day? Keep me updated!! Yeah, I was a little caught offguard by the silence…but they will get to know me wether they like it or not lol! I will try again tomorrow lol

      • My little girl is such a sweet heart – Like a person who just cares and reaches out to others. And what worries me aren’t little boys: they are other little girls. I saw a few interactions with larger group of kids that just floored me. And she still treated them nicely.
        And I will probably get on my mommy blog (I apparently am insane. I have 3 – Gaming, Fitness experience, and the newest is my ‘mom’ one that I don’t have nearly as much) and write about it.
        But I agree with you. Making sure our kids know they are beautiful and smart is very important.
        And maybe they just have to warm up first. You’ll get ’em!

      • Yeah kids can be cruel…I saw a few things on the playground that really bothered me. I try to be involved as much as I can…just to make sure I know what is happening that teachers may not see. Ha! I know what you mean with blogs…I wanted to start a gaming one too…and I have a movie one that I don’t update enough lol. I tried to get to school early today to try and talk to them again..but traffic was way too bad lol.

  2. My dad’s a great guy but incapable of expressing his feelings. Everytime I read about how hard it is for you to watch your little one grow, it helps me to understand a little of what my dad must have gone and is still going through too. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    • Yeah, time really does fly by fast…and sometimes we don’t really take time to live in the moment and enjoy the whole process…and I am guilty of that. So, this blog has helped me keep track and chronicle my little one’s journey through life…and the way it affects me. I try to be as honest as I can because I am sure someone who is reading this may be going through something similar to what I am going through..and it might provide a little insight. So I try to keep it as light-hearted as possible…I am an extremely paranoid person so I am constantly worrying about her lol.

  3. You did good dad, no tears or anything!! It is hard letting go as they grow because we see them as our babies… My son is walking now and honestly when I see it, I tear up remembering the newborn… sigh.

    • I know! I was pretty surprised that my eyes didn’t water up when I walked away. She is a lot more sassy now…so I do miss the days where she would just walk up to me and tell me she loved me….those things happen a lot less now. See…now my eyes are started to tear up lol.

  4. It doesn’t really change when they go off to college – you worry just as much, especially if they go to school out of town. But at least by then you’ve had some practice at leaving them in the care of others.

    • Yeah, she asks a lot about sleepovers with her friends…I don’t think I am ready to let her sleep over at other friend’s houses…I would be a nervous wreck the whole time. We joke with her and tell her that we will follow her to whatever city she ends up in…and she better have room for an extra bed in her dorm room because we would be staying there too lol.

      • You could maybe find one friend whose parents you totally trust and let her try sleeping over there.

        Just warn the parents that if they see a strange vehicle parked on the street in front of their house that night, not to worry because it will just be you keeping an eye on her. 🙂

      • LOL! I would totally do that…I would drop by for no reason. “Oh yeah, we were just in the neighborhood…just checking to see if she needed anything or if she wanted to come back home already..” lol

Leave a Reply

